Keynote speaker at the Fulbright Denmark symposium, Michael Sfraga, was just announced as one of six commissioners for USARC by President Biden.


President Biden has just announced six commissioners to the U.S. Arctic Research Commission (USARC). Dr. Michael Sfraga is one of them. He is also one of our keynote speakers for our Fulbright Denmark Anniversary Symposium “From Soft Diplomacy to Science Diplomacy” on November 4, 2021.

Dr. Michael Sfraga is the founding director of the Polar Institute and serves as the director of the Global Risk and Resilience Program at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Sfraga served as a distinguished co-lead scholar for the U.S. Department of State’s Fulbright Arctic Initiative from 2015-2019. This was initially a complimentary program to the U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council but has successfully been continued since, with two participants from the Danish realm for each institute.

U.S. Arctic Research Commission

The USARC is an independent federal agency that advises the President and Congress on domestic and international Arctic research.