About Fulbright

The Fulbright Program is recognized around the world as the flagship program for outstanding students and scholars who want to study, research, and work with the best in their fields. Fulbright Denmark awards grants and scholarships to the best and the brightest Danish and American students and scholars who want to further their academic careers in the US and Denmark.

The Fulbright Program in Denmark is founded on a 1951 bilateral agreement between Denmark and the United States. The work is carried out by a binational commission with a board of four Danes and four Americans, as well as the honorary chair of the American ambassador to Denmark. Both governments fund the program through annual base allocations from their state budgets, and today Fulbright Denmark receives extra financial and in-kind support from a number of sources.

Over 3.500 “best and brightest” Danes and Americans have participated in the Fulbright Program since it began in Denmark in 1951, working on mutual understanding and sparring with the world’s elite within their fields. Over the last 20 years, Fulbright Denmark has awarded between 25 and 50 annual scholarships to Danes and Americans, with advising numbers ranging from 4,000 to 8,000.

The history behind Fulbright

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 as a result of legislation presented by late Arkansas Senator J. William Fulbright, which was passed by the United States Congress and signed into law by President Harry Truman. Since its inception, over 400,000 Fulbrighters from the United States and 165 countries have studied, taught, and conducted research in each other’s countries while promoting international understanding and collaboration as participants and alumni, thanks to the support of the American people and partner governments around the world. The creation of the Fulbright Program, as well as continued support for it, reflects a common worldwide goal for peaceful relations among nations.

Read more about the history of Fulbright here.

Facts about Fulbright

  • The Fulbright program is created for the best and the brightest students and scholars in 160 countries.
  • Fulbright Denmark administers 45-50 annual grants to Danish and American students and scholars.
  • Funding for Fulbright Denmark is provided in annual state budget allocations by the Danish Ministry of Higher Education, and the US State Department, as well as a number of Danish and American institutions and foundations. Read more about our funding here.
  • Both Danish and American students and scholars have to be approved by the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. The 12 board members, who are all appointed by the current American President, can be found here.
  • Fulbright Denmark was previously known as the Danish-American Fulbright Commission.
  • Fulbright Denmark is located in Copenhagen but covers the realm: Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands.
  • 62 Fulbright alumni have been awarded the Nobel Prize. One of the winners is Danish Niels K. Jerne.

Board members

American board members

  • Cynthia Brown

Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Embassy Copenhagen; Vice-Chair of Fulbright Denmark

  • Phillip Assis

Public Diplomacy Officer, U.S. Embassy Copenhagen; Treasurer of Fulbright Denmark

  • Amy Hebert

Chief Executive Officer, Arcadia eFuels

  • Katherine Richardson

Professor, Center for Macroecology, Evolution, and Climate, UCPH

Danish board members

  • Pernille Ulrich

Head of Division, Danish Agency for Ministry of Higher Education & Science; Chair of Fulbright Denmark

  • Niels Andersen

Vice Director, DTU Space & Head of DTU’s Polar Activities

  • Jørn Brøndal

Professor & Chair, Center for American Studies, SDU

  • Peter Kurrild-Klitgaard

Professor, Department of Political Science, UCPH

Read more about the board members here.

Read more about the Fulbright Program